[4:15:11] NCRC Chrono Series

The Chrono Series is NCRC's Time Trial series, providing a separate run group for a more exciting driving series much closer to a race format, and a "framework" for marque-specific time trial/challenge groups. Drivers race against the clock to set their best lap time for the day, within the boundaries of safety rules.


We are happy to host the 86Cup, an energetic group of Scion FRS and Subaru BRZ time trial drivers. You may classify your cars here, and register for Chrono Series events with the rest of the Chrono drivers. Your scores will be separately listed, within the 86Cup classes.

2017 Schedule

For the 2017 season, we are only running the 86Cup Series, so you must be driving a Subaru BRZ, Scion FRS, or Toyota 86 to enter. NCRC will host 8 dates, at the Thunderhill, Laguna Seca and Buttonwillow racetracks.

Digital flash clock widget


Drivers need to know their car class, and enter it in the NCRC registration form when they register for events.

Points are accumulated for the season, with the worst four events being thrown out. Drivers who participate in all Chrono events will have an opportunity to improve their scores, drivers who participate in fewer events will have fewer opportunities for season points.

We run the Chrono Series timed laps mixed in with the Open and Point-By groups (since we allow both Open and Point-By drivers to participate in Chrono), and let the entrants start at the front of the grid at the beginning of the session. This will allow you to get a couple clean laps in before getting caught up with all the regular open trackers. Rules in these groups will remain *open track* though - they won't become race groups, or groups where aggressive driving is tolerated. All five sessions will be used for timing results.

Event Registration

Register for Chrono Series events through the NCRC web site registration process. It is your responsibility to be registered and paid early enough to guarantee a spot in the event.


Points are earned at each series event and are accumulated for the year-end championship. Points are awarded to the top 8 finishers for each class as follows:
1st = 10 pts, 2nd = 8 pts, 3rd = 6 pts, 4th = 5 pts, 5th = 4 pts, 6th = 3 pts, 7th = 2 pts, 8th = 1 pt

Driver participation in a minimum of three Chrono Series events during the year is required be eligible to win a class.

Minimum in-class participation (total number of cars in a class) for a car to be eligible for separate Chrono classing is 3 cars. Fewer cars will result in scoring within GT.

Penalty points are subtracted from the day's score for each spin or major "off" (2/4 wheels on turn exit). Two wheels off at an apex is not a penalty. NCRC Management will reserve the right to assign a penalty for dangerous or overly aggressive driving. For one penalty, one point; two penalties = 3 points; 3 penalties= 6 points; four penalties and you're out of the event for the day.